[NBA] Dirk Nowitzki、interracial結婚について語る

The color of love: Dirk Nowitzki opens up on his interracial marriage

by Marc J. Spears | The Undefeated | January 9, 2017
https://theundefeated.com/features/the-color-of-love-dirk-nowitzki-opens-up-on-his-interracial-marriage/

Nowitzki said he has never heard any racial comments in regards to him and his wife.

“Nobody actually approached me with it,” Nowitzki said. “Everybody that’s met my wife has said she’s great with me. So I haven’t heard any of that to my face. I’m sure there’s some people that think of it to themselves. But, I’ve never heard it to my face.”

Dirk Nowitzki and his wife, Jessica
Dirk Nowitzki and his wife, Jessica, on their wedding day on July 20, 2012 in Dallas, Texas. Courtesy of Jessica Nowitzki


素敵なラブ・ストーリーに影を落とすのが、アメリカの人種問題と警官による暴力。

Nowitzki described what he saw in 2016 as “not pretty” in terms of racial and social justice. He believes that education, respect and discipline are key to keeping his children out of harm’s way.

“In your head you’re saying it’s 2016, this stuff shouldn’t be happening in our society,” Nowitzki said. “That’s a little scary to every parent. You’re just trying to educate your kids so eventually if they do find themselves in a situation, they can talk themselves out of it or make the right decisions, make the right reads …

Popも以前どこかで語っていた。Nowitzkiのお子さんが『白人』みたいに見えたら、もしかすると必要ないかもしれない心配。


Serena Williamsが甥っ子くんに車で送ってもらっているときに警官を見かけ…という記事を思い出す。

https://www.facebook.com/SerenaWilliams/posts/10154607381941834

Today I asked my 18 year old nephew (to be clear he’s black) to drive me to my meetings so I can work on my phone #safteyfirst. In the distance I saw cop on the side of the road. I quickly checked to see if he was obliging by the speed limit. Than I remembered that horrible video of the woman in the car when a cop shot her boyfriend. All of this went through my mind in a matter of seconds. I even regretted not driving myself. I would never forgive myself if something happened to my nephew. He’s so innocent. So were all “the others”
I am a total believer that not “everyone” is bad It is just the ones that are ignorant, afraid, uneducated, and insensitive that is affecting millions and millions of lives.
Why did I have to think about this in 2016? Have we not gone through enough, opened so many doors, impacted billions of lives? But I realized we must stride on- for it’s not how far we have come but how much further still we have to go.

I than wondered than have I spoken up? I had to take a look at me. What about my nephews? What if I have a son and what about my daughters?
As Dr. Martin Luther King said ” There comes a time when silence is betrayal”.

I
Won’t
Be
Silent

Serena

‘I Won’t Be Silent’: Serena Williams on the Fear of Driving While Black

By Christine Hauser | The New York Times | Sept. 28, 2016
http://www.nytimes.com/2016/09/29/sports/tennis/serena-williams-addresses-fears-of-driving-while-black.html

The “woman in the car” was mostly likely a reference to the girlfriend of Philando Castile, a 32-year-old school cafeteria worker who was at the wheel when he was pulled over in July by a Hispanic police officer in a Minnesota suburb, ostensibly for a cracked taillight. He was shot and killed while reaching for his identification.

Leave a Reply

